What is the New Jersey Lemon Law?
The Lemon Law changes by state. The primary purpose of the New Jersey Lemon Law is to give car owners a no-cost method of applying vehicle makers to repurchase defective vehicles. If the NJ Lemon Law is determined to have been violated, the manufacturer must repurchase the consumer’s vehicle and pay all of their attorney’s fees. At Power & Associates, we use our lemon law cases on a no-cost, no-fee basis. We bear the prices and the court costs, win or lose.
Which Vehicles Are Included?
The law includes used passenger cars, purchased from a licensed car dealership, which are 7 model years old or less. The purchase price of the vehicle must be at least $3,000.00, and at the time of purchase, the mileage cannot be more than 100,000 miles.
Which Vehicles Are Not Included?
The New Jersey Used Car Lemon Law expressly excludes the below cars from protection.
- a used car sold for less than $3,000.00
- used cars which are more than 7 model years old salvage vehicles
- on its odometer, a used car that with more than 100,000 miles
- a used car that was not bought from a car dealer, but bought from a private seller
- motorcycles, off-road vehicles, motor homes, and business vehicles
- a used car that is covered by a manufacturer’s guarantee
- a used car that has 60,000 or more miles where the warranty has been rejected.”
- a used car that has been changed abused or not managed by the consumer.
Length of the Warranty in Lemon Law for used Cars
If your vehicle meets the above terms, the car dealer must give you a warranty. The length of the warranty will totally depend on the used car’s mileage:-
- If a motor car vehicle has 24,000 miles or less on its odometer, the car dealer must give you a warranty for 3,000 miles or 90 days, whichever comes first.
- If a motor vehicle has less than 60,000 miles on its odometer but more than 24,000 miles, the car dealer must give you a warranty of 2,000 miles or 60 days whichever comes first.
- If a motor vehicle has miles between 60,000 and 100,000 on the odometer, the car dealer must give you a warranty for 30 days or 1,000 miles, whichever comes first.
It is important to note that in settling a better price for a used car, you may reject your right to a warranty, but for that, on its odometer, the vehicle must have more than 60,000 miles, and the rejection must be in writing.
Which Car Parts Are Covered Under New Jersey Lemon Law?
The covered parts include:
- Engine. All internally lubricated parts, harmonic balancer, engine mounts, seals and gaskets, and turbo-charger housing (Housing, engine block, and cylinder heads, timing chains, timing belt, pulleys and cover, oil pump and gears and protection, water pump, valve covers, oil pan, manifolds, flywheel, are covered only if they are destroyed by the breakdown of an internally lubricated part.
- Transmission Automatic/Transfer Case. All internally lubricated parts, torque converter, vacuum modulator, transmission mounts, seals, and gaskets.
- Transmission Manual/Transfer Case. All Internally lubricated parts, transmission mounts, seals and gaskets (excluding manual clutch), pressure plate, throw-out bearings, clutch master, or slave cylinders.
- Front-Wheel Drive. All internally lubricated parts, axle shafts, constant velocity joints, seals, and gaskets, front hub bearings.
If you doubt that your used car has a fault, you must inform the car dealer right away and be sure to have a complete record of your receipts and communications with the car dealer. You will be answerable for paying a $50 deductible for each repair of each covered item.
What Are Your Benefits If You Have a Lemon?
If the car dealer cannot fix the defect, the dealer must, at your choice, refund or replace the full purchase price of the car (a reasonable deduction for excessive wear and tear and personal use of the vehicle and fewer sales taxes, title and registration fees).
If the car dealer declines to refund or replace the full purchase price of your used car, you may be capable of relief under the Lemon Law. You can:
- Request a Lemon Law hearing through the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs dispute resolution program
- Register a lawsuit in the Superior Court of New Jersey, or
- Try to work something out through the dealer’s informal dispute resolution program
If you have any queries about New Jersey Lemon Law then write in a comment section about lemon law for used cars in New Jersey.
Related Article: Sell Your Car For Cash in New Jersey